In this article, Mr. Sumanth Makam a leading professor who provides IAS Coaching in Banglore talks about “A Step-by-Step Guide on How to Become an Indian Administrative Service Officer”.

Now let’s understand the article that talks about how to crack an IAS officer post by understanding all the steps that are required to achieve it.

 Many people are interested in learning how to become an IAS officer. For pupils in the tenth and twelfth grades, this is especially important information. Are you an aspirant applicant who wishes to work in the Indian Administrative Services (IAS)?

What career objective have you set for yourself? Are you prepared to put in the necessary effort in order to reach your goal? Then, certainly, you have arrived at the correct location. I’m going to walk you through the process of becoming an IAS officer after 12th grade in simple steps. Continue reading the article to the end to find out more about it.

And do you intend to pursue a career as a District Magistrate after achieving the rank of IAS Officer? Then, after 2 to 3 promotions as an IAS Officer, you are promoted to the position of DM. For further information on how to become a DM, see How to Become an IAS.

IAS Full Form

The IAS officer is something that many of us are familiar with. However, only a small percentage of the population is familiar with the full title of IAS officer. As a result, let us first consider what the complete form of IAS is. The Indian Administrative Service is abbreviated as IAS. It is considered to be one of the most prominent government positions in the country.

How to Become an Indian Administrative Service Officer

 Mr. Sumanth Makam says that In order to be appointed as an IAS officer, a candidate must pass the Civil Service Examination (CSE), which is administered by the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC). Only an aspirant candidate who passes the UPSC-CSE exam would be eligible to become an IAS officer.

Criteria for Eligibility

Age Restriction

  • To be eligible to sit for the UPSC CSE exam, candidates must be at least 21 years of age.
  • The maximum age at which a candidate can be considered for appointment as an IAS officer in the general category is 32 years.
  • Furthermore, the maximum age limit for the OBC category is 35 years, as is the maximum age limit for the SC/ST category, which is 37 years.

Qualifications in the field of education

  • A candidate who wishes to become an IAS officer and pass the UPSC CSE exam must obtain a bachelor’s degree from a university that is nationally recognized. This examination is open to all candidates, including those who are in their final year of undergraduate study.
  • Candidates who have completed their studies through correspondence are also eligible to sit for this examination.
  • This particular examination is open to everyone, even professionals.
  • A medical student may also apply for this examination if they are currently enrolled in one. However, only if he has completed his degree and is currently enrolled in an internship program.
  • In addition, those who have passed the CA, ICWA, and ICSI examinations are eligible to apply for the position.

The Total Number of Attempts

  • For the general category, the candidate is only allowed to make a total of six attempts.
  • And for that off-OBC, the candidate is only allowed to make a total of nine attempts.
  • A candidate from a minority group has no age restriction until he or she reaches the age of 37.

What Is the UPSC Civil Services Examination?

Banglore-based professor Mr. Sumanth Makam notes that UPSC is an abbreviation for the Union Public Service Commission, which is responsible for administering the CSE exam. It is considered to be one of the most difficult competitive exams in India.

The UPSC CSE test is divided into three phases, which are as follows:-

  1. The preliminary examination 2. The main examination 3. The interviewing procedure

Preliminary Examination

Multiple-choice questions make up the bulk of this exam. Additionally, it receives a negative marking of 0.33 points as a penalty. The paper will take 2 hours to complete and will be worth 400 points in total.

Paper No. 1

Current events, Indian history, and politics are all covered.

Paper No. 2

Aptitude test for the civil service (CSAT).

Examining for the Mains

If a candidate passes the preliminary exam, he or she will be able to take the Mains exam. A mains examination is a descriptive form of examination. A total of nine papers are included, with a total score of 1750 points.

Examining the syllabus for the Mains Exam

Essay on any subject 

Indian history, culture, and geography Constitution, governance, and social justice are all important concepts. Technology, the environment, and disaster management are some of the topics covered. Aptitude, Integrity, and Ethical Principles Language of the Indians (Anyone of the language) English language.

Process of Interviewing

Mr. Sumanth Makam a top educator in Banglore opines that After clearing both the objective and subjective exams, a candidate is eligible to go to the final round of interviews with the hiring manager. Only a handful of contenders advanced to this stage of the competition. After passing the qualifying examination and the interview, the candidate is appointed as an IAS officer.

During the interview, the candidate’s subjective personal abilities, as well as his or her mental aptitude, are evaluated. Following the selection of the candidate, he or she is trained and assigned to a certain position 

The Responsibilities and Duties of an IAS Officer

  • To develop and implement significant policy initiatives
  • to provide essential advice to the ministers on important issues
  • The inhabitants’ right to live in peace and order must be maintained
  • Important policies and choices are being put into effect
  • Revenues are being collected
  • Supervisor of a variety of expenditures
  • Take critical judgments when they are required, and create policies in accordance with those decisions. Ensure that policies are properly implemented