Home Cricket Hundreds of Spectators Ran towards the Pitch after the Match in T20...

Hundreds of Spectators Ran towards the Pitch after the Match in T20 Blast Tournament


West Indies have started preparations for the T20 World Cup 2021. He has announced the squad for the first two matches of the five-match T20 series against South Africa starting June 26. Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) star all-rounder Andre Russell has returned. Apart from him, the team has experienced players like Dwayne Bravo, Chris Gayle, captain Kieron Pollard, Jason Holder, Lendl Simmons and Fidel Edwards.

West Indies have won the T20 World Cup in 2012 and 2016 under the captaincy of Darren Sammy. This tournament will be the first time since 2016. The defending champions have to play 15 T20 Internationals before the T20 World Cup. They are the most dangerous team in this short format. The West Indies team will play a series of five T20 matches against South Africa from 26 June to 3 July. This will be followed by 5 T20 matches against Australia from 9 July to 16 July. Then there will be 5 T20 matches against Pakistan from 27 July to 3 August. Many players from the team will then be part of the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) and the Indian Premier League (IPL).

The 33-year-old Russell has been a member of the T20 World Cup winning team twice. He has played 49 T20Is for West Indies but is yet to score a half-century. He last played for the Windies against Sri Lanka at Pallekele in March last year. Chief selector Roger Harper said, “Andre Russell will be the ‘X’ factor of the team. He is an impressive player with both bat and ball and delivers more depth in both departments. Our aim is to make the best team for the T20 World Cup.

Kieron Pollard will captain the team. The first two matches of the five-match series will take place on Saturday and Sunday at the Granada National Stadium. Nicholas Pooran, who plays for Punjab Kings in IPL, will be the vice-captain of the team. The team has explosive openers in the form of Andre Fletcher, Lendl Simmons, Chris Gayle and Evin Lewis.

West Indies squad for the first two T20Is against South Africa: Kieron Pollard (captain), Nicholas Pooran (vice-captain), Fabian Allen, Dwayne Bravo, Fidel Edwards, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Jason Holder, Evin Lewis, Obed McCoy, Andre Russell, Lendl Simmons, Kevin Sinclair.

Also Read: England Won the T20 Series Against Sri Lanka

Exit mobile version