NEW DELHI: After the resignation of Tirath Singh Rawat from his post on Friday night, now the name of the third Chief Minister of Uttarakhand has been stamped in four months. BJP Legislature Party meeting was held to decide the next Chief Minister of Uttarakhand. Union Agriculture Minister Narendra Singh Tomar and party affairs in-charge Dushyant Kumar Gautam were present. In this meeting, the name of Pushkar Singh Dhami was stamped. Pushkar Singh Dhami is the MLA from Khatima.

swearing-in may happen soon Let us tell you, Tirath Singh Rawat submitted his resignation to Governor Baby Rani Maurya late on Friday evening. Rawat, a Lok Sabha member from Garhwal, was required to take oath as an elected MLA within six months of becoming chief minister as per rules. Rawat had to be elected to the State Legislative Assembly before 10 September to continue in his post, which could not happen due to the provision of the Representation of the People Act, 1951. Now that Pushkar Singh Dhami’s name has been stamped, a party insider said, “The time of swearing-in will be decided at the earliest after staking claim to form the government.”

Decision taken to avoid constitutional crisis

Let us tell you, Tirath Singh Rawat took oath as the CM of Uttarakhand in place of Trivendra Singh Rawat on 10 March. Sources said Tirath Singh Rawat, who was in Delhi till Friday evening, where he met BJP chief JP Nadda twice in three days. Rawat was asked by the party leadership to resign to avoid a constitutional crisis. On Friday afternoon, Rawat once again met Nadda and left for Dehradun to submit his resignation to the Governor.

Also Read: Election For The Post Of District Panchayat President In Muzaffarnagar Today